Criminal Defense for Marijuana Charges
Depending on where you live, the laws covering the use of marijuana are either strict or lenient. In Alaska, for example, possession of one ounce or less within your home is not a crime, and a pot grow house can have up to 25 plants and not be a crime. In California, 28.5 grams or less is a misdemeanor with no recommended jail time and a $100 fine. In Ohio, growing or possession of less than 100 grams of marijuana is a minor misdemeanor with no recommended jail time and a $100 fine.
State laws are uneven and may not be enforced evenly within each state.
As an activist, attorney Kirk Migdal joins with legal professionals nationwide who seek the reform of marijuana laws. As an active member of the National Organization to Reform Marijuana Laws (NORML), he applies his libertarian convictions with the knowledge and skill of an accomplished criminal defense lawyer.
Contact the Law Office of Kirk A. Migdal or call 330-267-0939 or 888-556-3493 for strong criminal defense of your marijuana charges for possession, cultivation or intent to distribute. The Law Office of Kirk A. Migdal, located in Akron, Ohio, is a law office that focuses exclusively on criminal defense.
Marijuana Law in Ohio
Attorney Migdal believes marijuana should be legal, while recognizing that possession, drug cultivation and distribution is still a crime with consequences:
- Ohio has taken small marijuana decriminalization steps. For example, there is no prison time or criminal record for first-time possession of a small amount for personal consumption.
- If you are stopped for a traffic violation that turns into an Operating a Vehicle while Impaired (OVI), a urine test can reveal traces of marijuana and escalate the charge and the penalties.
- Fifteen nanograms (one billionth of a gram) per milliliter in your urine is the OVI legal limit. This detectable amount could result if you smoked pot two days before your traffic stop.
- Possession or sale of certain amounts of marijuana carries mandatory minimum sentences. A peaceful marijuana smoker sentenced to life with a mandatory minimum sentence must serve a life sentence with no chance of parole. Cultivation/manufacturing of 20,000 grams or more carries a mandatory minimum sentence of two to eight years.
"I'd Like to Speak to My Lawyer."
If you were arrested on a marijuana charge, it is a good idea to say nothing until you speak with experienced criminal defense attorney Kirk Migdal. He has saved lives, marriages, driving privileges, reputations and more. Call the law office at 888-556-3493 or send an e-mail to arrange for an initial consultation.